Reasons to Smile: Mothers

“Mothers of teens know why some animals eat their young.”

–Anonymous

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies out there*! Firstly, I would like to note that of the 6,500 languages spoken in the world, no single one could ever express the power of mothers: their love, their sacrifice, their heroism. These things are infinite in magnitude for mothers and could never be trapped or contained by something so simple as our words.

A mother’s love teaches us that we are more than we ever perceive in our heads. Mothers believe in us despite all the evidence to the contrary (and there is always a lot of evidence). Her love has no bounds, and she pours her heart into every little thing that she does for us. It is overwhelming when you think about it. We spend so much money on our mothers on mother’s day, but how could such materialistic things truly show them our love? How do we let her know how much we love her and to just what extent? It is difficult. It is nearly impossible.

There are guardian angels on this earth for each of us, and they come in the form of mothers. They walk through life beside us, holding our hand and keeping us in their hearts. They do heroic things every day for us (like clean our rooms).

my beautiful mother

my beautiful mother

My mother has guided me through so many aspects of my life –many of which I probably am not even aware of. She has imprinted in me a moral compass and has gifted me with the ability to love wholeheartedly, as she does. Perhaps it is from her that I get my tendency to love with my every fiber. She taught me this love and for that I am immensely grateful. I have a brother and sister and to be able to raise three people as crazy, as messy, as loud, and as dependent on ours mother as we are, well – I’m truly surprised that she hasn’t eaten us yet. Happy Mother’s Day, Amma! I love you ❤

*Happy Mother’s Day also to the single fathers or other guardians out there who act also as a mother figure to their children, this day is for you all the same.

Leave a Reply

