Lost in Translation: tsundoku

tsundoku n. // japanese

leaving a book unread after buying it, typically piled up with other unread books

If there is any word in the world to describe me so perfectly, it is absolutely this one. I am tsundoku. I cannot tell you the amount of books I have stacked up under my desk right at this very moment, all books I have bought with the absolute intention of reading them, all left completely unopened and still remain unread. If you must know, I am the occasional procrastinator, and although I love reading, it is one of the hobbies that I end up procrastinating in. I’ll let the stacks of books tell you that much. And if you don’t believe me about the tsundoku thing, just ask my mom. She’ll tell you all about how I’m always buying books but never reading them. To be fair, I do have a list that prioritizes which books to read. I’ll share with you my Top 3 To Read Books:

  1. The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  3. This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

What are your “to read” books? Tell me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

