Lost in Translation: boketto

boketto n. // japanese

gazing vacantly into the distance without really thinking about anything specific

Wbokettoe often call this “dozing off”, or “staring into the distance”. I do it so often! I just sit there and let my mind wander, and yet it rests, silent. In fact, some forms of yoga or meditation require you to sit still, with your eyes closed, and just clear your mind until you are not thinking at all. When you do it intentionally, it’s harder than it seems. Yet some of us –more than others– can easily slip into a conscious absence of thought and just disappear into the depths of our mind palace.

Realistically, our brains are always active, and so being completely absent of thought is rare. People who are staring off are usually daydreaming about something. I know that personally these are crucial moments of creativity, when my brain breaks off from its normal task and runs off to catch a butterfly of an idea. Sometimes it is as simple as a scene or a character, and sometimes I am reenacting moments of my life or moments that I hope will come to be. So maybe, moments of boketto are our eyes are settling into blank space, so to speak, to allow our brains to breathe.

 

How often do you find yourself in boketto? Where do you go in your head when you daydream? Tell me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

