Lost in Translation: tiám

tiám n. // farsi

the twinkle in your eye when you first meet someone

This is something that happens only when you meet certain people.

I love the idea that we are all made of stars and stardust, that the skies actually live within us. And I believe that if that’s true, then when our eyes twinkle, it’s the universe alerting us of something important. In this case, if you meet someone for the first time and your eyes are twinkling, that person is sure to be a big part of your life, in one way or another. When I see people speak of their passions, I see their eyes twinkle, and I know that the
universe is filling them with a brimming love that they can hardly contain in words. It is the mark of a truly special moment that brings out the eye twinkle. You feel your body wake up, as though a burst of electricity has just shocked your entire body. The last time I felt this way was when I first met some of my floormates. We had an immediate connection of interests that we bonded over. It was like an important puzzle piece of my life puzzle had been found and was about to be placed.

 

When was the last time your eyes sparkled? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

