P.S. I Love Me: Day 6

6. Share a flaw.

I overanalyze. Maybe it’s because I’m a total literature brain, but anything anyone says or does, I analyze it for all the hidden meanings that it totally doesn’t mean. I end up creating problems that do not exist and by extension, I stress myself out over things that only happen inside my head. Sometimes it gets me in trouble and suddenly I’m neck-deep in some sort of drama, and other times I just get my own hopes up and disappoint myself. Whatever the case, over-analyzing people’s words and their actions without much basis transforms the way I see people, and I rarely think to confirm my own perceptions.

Surely, I’m not the only one who does this. Many people spend far too much time worrying about what someone meant or what hidden motive for a particular action was. In the end, we become hurt or angry, threatening the solidity of any given relationship by a reality that is entirely fabricated.

I’m not sure why I do this, but I know that it often leaves me in distress, worrying about things that may or may not exist, upset about things that people may or may not have said, etc. Nonetheless, it is certainly something I have to learn to dial back on. I am no mind reader, and over analyzing does me no good. I guess I’ll have to search for ways to stop worrying so much! Got any tips for me?

 

2 thoughts on “P.S. I Love Me: Day 6

Leave a Reply

